Entrepreneurship Education Consortium to boost the college ecosystem

The Entrepreneurship Education Consortium, which has been fostering collaboration and entrepreneurial education for local college students since 2007, has announced it will become the hub of the college entrepreneurship ecosystem in Northeast Ohio.

Deborah D. Hoover, longtime philanthropic leader, will lead the charge as the EEC propels the next level of growth and impact in the region.

Over the next three years, EEC will coordinate existing programs to grow businesses, instill an entrepreneurial spirit across campuses, and match students with entrepreneurial opportunities, according to a press release. The aim is to meet the talent needs of the business community by creating a pool of graduates who possess well-honed entrepreneurial and innovation skills that can be deployed in new and existing businesses.

“Northeast Ohio has many resources to help entrepreneurs and students develop ideas and become important drivers of the local economy,” EECboard President Colette Hart said in a statement. the press release. “These resources could have even more impact if brought together. The Entrepreneurship Education Consortium will serve as a hub that connects the dots that make up our ecosystem, paving the way for improved collaboration, alignment and strategic coordination.

To lead this initiative, the EEC has hired Deborah Hoover as its new CEO. Hoover will retire as president and CEO of the Burton D. Morgan Foundation at the end of this month, after serving 15 years. Entering her fifth year with EEC, Reka Barabas will continue her work within the leadership team as a relationship manager.

“Watching students develop entrepreneurial skills and mindset, helping them develop their potential and understanding how to bring ideas to life has been exciting and rewarding,” Hoover said in the release. This opportunity to help EEC transform into a college center in the region fits perfectly with my personal and professional goals as a committed ecosystem builder.

New efforts will include participation in the new Cleveland Talent Alliance, as well as continued collaboration with the University School’s Young Entrepreneur Institute, JumpStart, Bounce Innovation Hub in Akron and MAGNET, the statement said.

The Entrepreneurship Education Consortium was established in 2007 and includes 11 member institutions: Ashland University; Baldwin Wallace University; Case Western Reserve University; Cleveland State University; Hiram College; John Carroll University; Kent State University; College of Lake Erie; Lorain County Community College; The University of Akron; and Mount Union University.

Previous Cabinet to approve loan for new business units | Northwest Business News
Next Extension of the business park to create 1,000 jobs